NLB Calls for Entries for the 2024 Tesla Awards

The National Lighting Bureau (NLB) has announced its Call for Entries in the 5th annual Tesla Awards. This program recognizes excellence in lighting projects that, through the creative use of lighting systems and controls, illustrate the value of lighting including (but not limited to): improved visual performance; promotion of health and wellness; environmental impact including reduced light pollution/preservation of nighttime lighting quality; enhanced safety and security; and increased overall occupant satisfaction. The program also strives to illustrate creative solutions that allow exceptional challenges and obstacles to be overcome.

The goal of the Tesla Awards is to promote best practices for a wide variety of indoor and outdoor lighting applications. The program aims to do more than highlight beautiful architecture by recognizing projects that provide a narrative and “how to” guide for others with similar lighting challenges.

Anyone may enter a project for the Tesla Awards. The entry fee is $50 per submission. Projects should have been completed within the 2021, 2022, and 2023 calendar years. Submissions should be entered via the designated online submittal process by January 12. Winners will be announced during LEDucation 2024 in New York City.

Judging criteria include:

•              Innovation

•              Application effectiveness – adherence to high quality lighting principles; includes effectiveness of the user interface

•              Energy effectiveness – includes controls strategy

•              Universality – how readily the design applies to other applications

•              Sustainability – includes ease of maintenance, use of recycled materials in product/packaging or materials that are recyclable, and other environmental measures)

Special credit points can be awarded at the discretion of the judges for extra project challenge and project impact such as budget, timing, location challenges/limitations, and social benefit (community impact, pro bono projects, historic preservation, etc.)

Related Articles

NLB Announces Winners of Lighting Transformation Awards

NLB Seeks Submissions for Art & Science of Lighting Awards

Related Articles

Latest Articles