National Lighting Bureau Announced the 5th Annual Tesla Award Winners  

Highest number of entries since the inception of the Tesla Awards

The National Lighting Bureau is pleased to announce the winners in the 5th Annual Tesla Awards. The projects being recognized support the organization’s mission of advancing lighting excellence and innovation in lighting design, advancing best lighting practices to create an inviting, healthier and more sustainable future. The awards ceremony will be taking place on March 19 th at 2 pm Eastern time during LEDucation in New York City, booth PF1. The ceremony will be hosted by NLB chairperson Mary Beth Gotti and NLB Executive Director Tom Butters. Judges for this year’s program are: Dawn DeGrazio, LC; Rebecca Hadley-Catter, LC, LEED AP; Terry McGowan, LC, FIES, Director-at-Large NLB; Randy Reid, past Exec. Director, NLB; and James Yorgey, PE, LC, Director-at-Large NLB. 

These winning projects exemplify the organization’s mission of advancing lighting excellence and illustrating best practices, focusing on the end user’s well-being and sustainability. Projects promote health and wellness, productivity, safety and security, visual comfort, control of light pollution, retail/commercial performance, and entertainment. 

Tesla Awards of Excellence Winners 

LS Group – Casa Marea, Los Cabos, Mexico 

Designers: Elise Streeb, Sarah Erickson 

Lighting Design Alliance – Jio World Centre, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India 

Designers: Christopher Bright, Chip Israel, Kenneth Moore, Meghan Murphy-McLeod, Varma V.S.K. Namburi, Jason Stroebel 

Lighting Design Alliance  – Palmilla Cocina y Tequila, Newport Beach, CA 

Designer: Kyllene Jones 

Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design – Yale University Sterling Memorial Library, Nave & Exhibition Gallery, New Haven, CT 

Designers: Francesca Bettridge, Nicole Yoon Kim, Nira Wattanachote, Min Young Kim 

Apicella & Bunton Architects 

Awards of Merit 

Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design – Charles R. Jones Federal Building and Courthouse, Charlotte, NC 

Designers: Stephen D. Bernstein, Renata Gallo, Francisco Casablanca, Nick Stuchlak 

Architects: Robert A. M. Stern, Jenkins Peer 

Electrolight – The Matheson, Healdsburg, CA 

Designers: Claudio Ramos, Lu-Yu Huang, Burak Yilmaz 

Electrolight – PHX Suns Arena, Phoenix, AZ 

Designers: Claudio Ramos, Lu-Yu Huang, Burak Yilmaz 

Licht Kunst Licht AG – Casals Forum, Kronberg im Taunus, Hesse, DE 

Designers: Edwin Smida, Nils von Leesen, Konstantin Klaas, Jaehoon Choi, Sophie Stanitzek 

Stantec and Niteo – Confidential Global Technology Company Office TI, Redmond, WA 

Designers: Stantec – Alison Fieldler and Niteo- Megan Sudol 

Special Citation 

ANDRES + PARTNER – Design of Daylight System for a Control Center, West Germany 

Special Citation: For innovative daylighting design and commendable consideration of the circadian needs of occupants. 

Designers: Bruno Thomas Menczigar, Arne Hűlsmann, Katja Schielbler, Peter Andres 

Electrolight – Westbridge Capital, San Mateo, CA 

Special Citation: For demonstrating effective color-tuning in a work environment. 

Designers: Claudio Ramos, Lu-Yu Huang, Burak Yilmaz 

Fisher Marantz Stone – Safeco Plaza, Seattle, WA 

Special Citation: For the impressive lobby retrofit lighting design that renews the image of an iconic office property. 

Designers: Kevin Frary, Charles G. Stone II 

Morlights – Indian Community School, Franklin, WI 

Special Citation: For illustrating the effective use of wireless DALI controls in educational institutions. 

Designers: Sean Murphy, Avraham Mor, Casey Diers, Kelsey Knowak 

Paragon – Hotel West and Main, Conshohocken, PA 

Special Citation: For the effective use of lighting to meld historic and contemporary buildings into a cohesive hospitality experience. 

Designer: Scott Kerns 

Schuler Shook – Optiver, Chicago, IL 

Special Citation: For expertly illustrating the successful rebirth of the luminous ceiling in a commercial office application. 

Designers: Travis Shupe, Emily Klingensmith, John Jacobsen 

With great appreciation, the National Lighting Bureau acknowledges all participants of the 5th Annual Tesla Awards, marking a milestone with the highest number of submissions to date. Congratulations to all Tesla Award winners for their commitment to promoting high benefit lighting by creating well-lit environments for communities around the world.  

Related Articles

Latest Articles

  • The Heart of the Olympic Park Transformed by Lemay and LumiGroup

    The Heart of the Olympic Park Transformed by Lemay and LumiGroup

    April 18, 2024 Architectural and design firm Lemay, and lighting agency LumiGroup, have combined their expertise to transform a partially under-exploited sector of the Montreal Olympic Park into a bright, warm, and dynamic work environment. Continuing their long-term history of working together on major projects, the mandate was to set up offices which would bring… Read More…

  • Granite School District Lowers Infection Risk Through Lighting

    Granite School District Lowers Infection Risk Through Lighting

    The COVID-19 pandemic changed the world and placed an emphasis on specific forms of lighting that can disinfect surfaces. Schools are considered high-risk environments for the transmission of infectious diseases due to the close and frequent contact and communication that occur among students and teachers. Furthermore, environments such as athletic training rooms, gymnasiums, cafeterias, and… Read More…