The Nuckolls Fund Announces Grant Award Recipients 2024

March 19, 2024

Nuckolls Fund for Lighting Education
The Nuckolls Fund for Lighting Education is pleased to announce two important developments. At its January meeting the board welcomed five new board members and voted $130,000 in new grants.

Named in honor of lighting designer and educator, James Nuckolls, the Fund supports lighting education through annual grants to college-level lighting programs, fellowships for lighting educators and achievement awards for lighting students. The Fund’s grants are made possible by donations from individuals and organizations throughout the lighting community.

New Board Members

Newly elected board members Edward Bartholomew, Mary Beth Gotti, Rebecca Hadley-Catter, Randy Reid, Barbara Weinreich joined Dan Blitzer, Tom Butters, Conner Sampson, Erin Speck, and Brian Stacy, who continue on the volunteer board.

New Educational Grants

After reviewing 16 proposals, The Nuckolls Fund voted $30,00 grants three institutions and a $20,000 Fellowship. The Fund also distributed four $5,000 achievement awards to individual students. Grant recipients are shown below. Since its founding in 1988, the Fund has provided a total of $2 million in support of lighting design education.

Edison Price Fellowship Grant $20,000 to Alana Pulay, Assistant Professor Washinton State University

Lesley Wheel Grant for an Introductory Lighting Program $30,000 to Colorado State University “Lighting Applications for Health Promoting and Sustainable Interiors”

Nuckolls Fund Grant to enhance Lighting Curriculum $30,000 to Columbia College Chicago “The Science Behind the Light: Early integration of light design to improve mental health and cognitive learning”

Nuckolls Fund Grant to enhance Lighting Curriculum $30,000 to University of Arkansas/Fayetteville “Premiumization, Sustainability, and Making Bespoke Lighting”

DLFNY Student Achievement Award– Aditi Dhingra, Parsons School of Design at the New School

DLFNY Student Achievement Award – Sandra Ling – Pennsylvania State University

Jonas Bellovin Student Achievement Award – Kelsi Weilage – University of Nebraska

Jules Horton International Student Achievement Award – Mr. Abraham Shikara Silva – The Lighting Research Center, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Please visit www.nuckollsfund.org to contribute to the Fund and to learn more about grant opportunities.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

  • The Heart of the Olympic Park Transformed by Lemay and LumiGroup

    The Heart of the Olympic Park Transformed by Lemay and LumiGroup

    April 18, 2024 Architectural and design firm Lemay, and lighting agency LumiGroup, have combined their expertise to transform a partially under-exploited sector of the Montreal Olympic Park into a bright, warm, and dynamic work environment. Continuing their long-term history of working together on major projects, the mandate was to set up offices which would bring… Read More…

  • Granite School District Lowers Infection Risk Through Lighting

    Granite School District Lowers Infection Risk Through Lighting

    The COVID-19 pandemic changed the world and placed an emphasis on specific forms of lighting that can disinfect surfaces. Schools are considered high-risk environments for the transmission of infectious diseases due to the close and frequent contact and communication that occur among students and teachers. Furthermore, environments such as athletic training rooms, gymnasiums, cafeterias, and… Read More…